Featured Banner Image

Featured Banner Image

Sunday, April 3, 2011

2011 National Student Show Results!

Last night, at the 7th annual National Student Show Award Ceremony, UNT rocked the house. Three weeks ago I posted all of the students who got work in the show 43 pieces out of 93 accepted (that is a whopping 42% of the show).

Here are the awards that were presented last night.

Best of Category Awards
Best of Logos: Anna Neiss – $125
Best of Letterhead Package: Brendon Avalos – $125
Best of Posters: Seungkyung Na – $125
Best Magazine Covers/Spreads: Natalia Zinser – $125
Best of Brochures & Catalogs: Jayme Davis – $125
Best of Annual Reports: Josh Kitchens – $125
Best Pro Bono Advertising: David Heflin – $125
Best Interactive Design: Jennifer Jennings – $125
Best of Illustration: Natalia Padillia – $125

Judges Choice Awards
Yvette Wheeler of RBMM: Seungkyung Na for "Paper Back Writer" – $250

Sponsored Awards
1400 Words Scholarship, Best Use of Copy: Emily Schwarting – $500
Clampitt Paper Scholarship, Best Use of Paper: Paul Samples for "Herman Miller AR" – $1,000

Scholarhips/Portfolio Awards
DSVC Jump-Start Scholarship: Anna Neiss – $2,000
Dick Sloane Portfolio Prize: Ashley Ayer – $3,000

Golden Apple Award for outstanding teaching (nominated by students)
Eric Ligon

Of the 31 awards given last night, UNT won 15 of them and a total prize of $7,875 in awards and scholarships. You all should be as incredibly proud of yourselves and your program as we, the faculty, are proud of you.

Best School went to the Miami Ad School, by the way. (This award is not made based on the number of submissions, but on the overall quality of all the work submitted by any given school.)

You are a great group of students and we feel luck to be teaching you.

Congrats again,
Eric, Michael, Keith, Karen, Michele, Alex, Jacob and Bill